Ch. 352. Recruitment Drive.

Captain Jean Lafitte III sighed as he put his cigarette out beneath his boot. He just wasn’t in the old country anymore. Saving face was in order now, not to mention the need for new recruits. The profitability of this trip had gone down considerably, and he wasn’t sure how many hands were intending to stay on.

“My apologies,” he said to Peino, Ruili, and Haug with a nod. “I was simply under the impression we were looking for a manner of punishment, and my crew is always in need of new blood.” Lafitte continued with a smile, “Though my initial assumption was mistaken, I am still in a recruiting mood.”

Lafitte pointed towards his ship and gestured towards Haug. “I’ve seen you fight and though I do have an assassin, he does lack the presence if you don’t mind me saying,” Lafitte smiled, letting the complement sink in. “My officers share in my own personal rate of thirty-five percent and I’ll offer you the same to join them as some hired muscle. Further, any of your men you wish may join my crew at six percent aboard La Danse Calinda.” Though Lafitte continued smiling, that wasn’t the entire truth. While he did officially take thirty-five percent of the loot on any given job, he also had full run of the stores, which made for a bit more of a perk.

“She is an airship, of the finest craftsmanship. We are in the business of privateering, protecting the waters of the South Arian Sea under Letters of Marque granted by the Bull & Jackal Mercantile Society,” Lafitte continued, though he wasn’t even sure if that was entirely valid. He hadn’t spoken to any of the members of that particular society in some time. That said, it wasn’t as if they paid him. He in fact was only paid in loot that he and his crew acquired in the act of privateering so, as far as Lafitte was concerned, it was an even trade.

“Though it isn’t as much as your original offer,” he said, nodding towards the nearby Brownie, “it’d be a damn sight more than you’d get from le petit armée,” he continued, chuckling a bit at his own perceived wit.

“And though the advantage is yours tactically, economically I believe you’ll be looking for new employment and I know you’re well aware that trade is constant,” Lafitte concluded, implying that therefore raiding was constant as well.

About Maurepas

I'm Charlie, aka, Maurepas, I write with Mura and Avayu in various RPs in Nationstates. I enjoy writing things, and the writing I do with them. I'm currently attempting to attend college, in pursuit of a Teaching Degree in History.
This entry was posted in Blood Arcana, Lafitte. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

