Ch. 67. An Ominous Proposal

Lafitte left the tavern as quickly as he’d came. His business had been attended to, he had a heading, and it was time to leave.  He’d had tussles before that began with, “Well, our Prince may have been too polite, but we on the other hand…” and Lafitte had no intention of being involved in another one.

“Do you think it wise to leave the card in their possession, patron?” Beau said from behind him. “If it were up to me we wouldn’t have gone near it at all,  and we’re going after more of them!? What are you doing with something like that Captain?!” Tayliana called out immediately in response. “Enough, you two. First, yes, I do believe it is wise, the elf obviously feels the same way about them that I do, besides I had to prove I wasn’t attracted to them as the Spriggans were.” Lafitte answered as they turned the corner and headed down the street back to the harbour.

“You felt the same way, didn’t you Tayli? It was stronger wasn’t it? That was why I brought you, I’m sorry I did it, but I had to know. They’re there to attract wizards, the cards that is.” Lafitte said, as Larman Ogges was descending the ramp from the Calinda towards him. “Bit of a disturbance with the fuddy-duddy’s at the pub, eh Cap’n?” Ogges said, “Word travels quick when the royals be involved,” he said with a wink at Lafitte’s raised eyebrow.

“Yes, well, it certainly didn’t go as smoothly as I had hoped, but it was enjoyable,” Lafitte replied with a smirk, as he turned to go to his quarters. “Patron,” he heard as he felt a tap on his shoulder, “a word?” Beau said as Lafitte turned to see him, “Of course, d’ami, what is it?” Lafitte replied.

“May I make a suggestion?” Beau asked, and Lafitte nodded, “We didn’t make a good impression upon the Daughter’s crew, did we? That may not have been the wisest of ideas, I know you hate the blue-bloods, but I know them. I know what they’re like,” Beau said, and he pulled down the collar of his shirt to reveal the Fleur-de-Lys tattooed to his neck. “And if there’s one thing I’ve learned, they can both open many doors otherwise shut, or become an enemy dangerous enough to keep them closed. Trust me, patron, if someone with “Prince” in front of their name points to everyone on the Calinda and says “arrest them,” there’s going to be either arrests or a fight and then arrests.” Beau concluded.

Lafitte nodded, his First Mate had a point, as he often did in matters of subtlety, Lafitte had no desire to have the powers-that-be wage an undying crusade against him due to not liking his tact. “Once again, d’ami, you show me why I hired you onto my crew. Very well then, what would you suggest we do to make amends?” he asked. “Meet the Prince for breakfast on the morrow, show him you are willing to show him the proper respect, and take him up on his initial offer to head with him to The Grand Navigators, and with any luck the man’s brother will be more willing to light our way.” Beau said, smiling as he outlined his plan.

Lafitte once again inclined his head, he didn’t like it, it’d taste like piss and vinegar to grovel to the elf for no other reason than his title. Still, he couldn’t avoid it, the former Guildsman had a point, if they were going to embark on a quest for the cards, it would be better to have the Prince working with them, rather than against them,  “Alright, alright, I won’t like it, but, c’est la vie,” Lafitte replied, turning back to walk towards the Larman, “Mr. Ogges, detail an invitation to our dear Prince, tell him that I invite him to meet me for a little breakfast before we shove off tomorrow, to make amends for my behaviour.” Lafitte said. “There, it is done. If this blows up in my face, it’s your head,” he said to Beau with mock ferocity as he rolled and lit a cigarette…

About Maurepas

I'm Charlie, aka, Maurepas, I write with Mura and Avayu in various RPs in Nationstates. I enjoy writing things, and the writing I do with them. I'm currently attempting to attend college, in pursuit of a Teaching Degree in History.
This entry was posted in Beau, Blood Arcana, Lafitte, Tayliana and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

